With chakra meditation, you are actively participating with your whole body, exploring its layers on a healing level and witnessing the effects of thoughts and feelings.

This is only a small example of the powerful message that is contained in GAIA Healing Step One of Seven.

Click Here to book your seven week GAIA Deep Healing Meditation Course.

This must be very personal practice, when done with faith you should expect a sense of contentment, peace and heightened charges of energy. You should sleep better and have a greater connection to your sense of self.

Think of your chakras like a tool kit. You have to keep your tools sharp and on point to use them to their best ability. In life, when bad or negative events occur, working on these points regularly will allow you to draw quickly on the tool that’s most appropriate.

How to Do Chakra Meditation

So how does one perform a chakra meditation?

It really depends on the person and meditation changes with each sitting.

If you’re a visual person, I would suggest using the colours associated with each chakra as a focal point. For others, it’s easier to place a hand at each point to understand how they feel and to focus the attention on these points whilst guiding through the meditation.

Remember that mediation does not necessarily require closed eyes, this is used as a means to soften the mind and help you focus, but take for example candle meditation. You would sit open-eyed watching the flame throughout, closing the eyes at the end of the practice. So you could have a visual cue of the chakra points before you and as you focus on each point on the visual align it to the point on your own body working from the root to the crown. Once you reach the crown, I would recommend closing your eyes.

If audio is more your forte, guided chakra meditations are blissful, and they often indicate to the positioning and color of each not just the name, so you can use visualization as you move through the meditation.

The Steps

As with any meditation, you can perform it daily or weekly, aim for around 20 minutes each time.

There are two types of chakra meditation I would recommend.

Sit on the floor (my preferred position) or lie flat, and start focusing on your breath.

Close your eyes to pull your attention within.

I would then bring your attention (in your mind’s eye) to the first chakra point: the base, which is your connection to the earth. I would ask that this be shown to me in whichever way is best for me (or you!), be it the color we are taught is associated with it, be it a symbol or a word.

Then I would start to focus on the chakra itself – visualize a wheel spinning; watch the direction of its flow, breathing into the light, the shape, space, just observing and trusting. Watch as your breath expands the light – the brightness of the chakra.

(This is the cleansing; the brighter and more vivid, the better. The mind will try to tell you it is not working but it is.)

Now start to visualize it spinning in a clockwise direction; feel its warmth or coolness. Every breath sent with the intention to expand and cleanse is a powerful source.

Now you move up and repeat at each point, working your way up and up. There is no rush – each chakra is individual. Remember that some will require more love on different days. As you reach your crown chakra, allow yourself in your mind’s eye to step back and witness your whole body.

Scan the whole body – is everything open and aligned? Breathe into every point, and then allow your breath to move from the crown chakra right through to the base and back up again; this feels delicious, as here you have found your flow.

Remember, trust your gut – you will intuitively know where you need to spend more time. Some points will expand with ease, and others will be more resistant, so this is where you come back to work next time.

It’s important to observe because you will witness each time you do the meditation just how different you are by day, by week, by month. This is how you ‘measure’ your results.

The second option is ideal if you want to focus on a specific area that correlates with where you wish to focus emotionally.

Start by focusing on what you really want to concentrate your efforts on and focus on that chakra. Let’s take, for example, expanding your voice.

Here you would need to turn to your throat chakra. You would begin as before but your attention would come directly to the throat (the space just outside your body rather than your tonsils!).

You would then visualize the wheel spinning and enlarging with every breath, and you would add a mantra here: ‘I am willing to release all that binds me, I allow myself to center and flow’.

Know Your Chakras

To perform chakra meditation, it helps to have an understanding of what chakras are.

They are power points of energy on the surface of our body.

These points spin like vortexes, pulling the outer or ‘universal’ energies to our most inner points, in order to align, balance and ease the physical, metaphysical and mental systems in and around the body.

7 Elements of GAIA deep healing:

  • Muladhara Chakra – Root Chakra
  • Swadhishthana Chakra – Sacral Chakra
  • Manipura Chakra – Solar Plexus Chakra
  • Anahata Chakra – Heart Chakra
  • Vishuddha Chakra – Throat Chakra
  • Ajna Chakra – Third Eye Chakra
  • Sahastrara Chakra – Crown Chakra

This is only a small example of the powerful message that is contained in GAIA Healing Step One of Seven.

Click Here to book your seven week GAIA Deep Healing Meditation Course.

Medical aesthetician and spiritual healer Mashell Tabe revealed to us exactly what the chakras are and where they are positioned on the body.

Ref: Knowles – well known chakra teacher.